vsA new fixture comes to the Supa Quick Premier Interschools roster on Saturday 28 May. Grey College welcome Krugersdorp side, Monument High School (Monnas).

The two schools played their first encounter in 1984, and that initial match ended in a draw. Subsequently they have not played regularly, only meeting during festivals and one-off games over a period of 38 years. The result being that they have only met 18 times since that very first game.

Monnas have an impressive run against the mighty Grey, in the last 18 matches the Krugersdorp side have won six times with two matches ending in draws. During 1991-1994, Monnas had solid run of victories, recording four consecutive wins, no mean feat against a school that have produced 46 senior South Africa rugby players.

Scores Through the Years

Year Monument Grey College
1984 10 10
1985 0 15
1988 3 34
1991 16 14
1992 11 6
1993 34 12
1994 36 30
1995 20 27
1996 13 8
1997 7 21
2008 14 16
2010 6 26
2011 14 18
2012 0 8
2013 8 13
2014 10 10
2015 17 7
2018 21 36


Grey College 2022 Season

Date Opp For Against
2022/02/26 Welkom Gim 64 15
2022/03/05 Duineveld 86 0
2022/03/25 Stellenberg 43 27
2022/03/28 Waterkloof 57 37
2022/04/09 Outeniqua 21 3
2022/04/23 Oakdale 17 17
2022/04/30 Boland Landbou 40 12
2022/05/02 Paarl Gim 17 22
2022/05/07 Selborne 38 20
2022/05/14 HJS Paarl 21 12
2022/05/21 Affies 43 24


Grey College is currently ranked as the second-best school in the country, with Paarl Gimnasium in pole position, the only side that beat Grey this year. They did draw with Oakdale in Riversdale, but besides these two hiccups in their season, the Grey rugby team is still steaming ahead for a possible number one spot finish at the end of the season.

Monnas 2022 Season

Date Opp For Against
2022/03/12 Welkom Gim 45 20
2022/03/26 Paarl Gim 19 42
2022/03/29 Oakdale 41 18
2022/04/06 Jeppe 45 13
2022/04/14 Westville BHS 33 20
2022/04/16 Marlow 12 7
2022/04/18 DHS 7 5
2022/04/23 Nelspruit 38 16
2022/04/29 Outeniqua 7 18
2022/05/02 HJS Paarl 3 27
2022/05/14 Garsfontein 43 19


Contrary to Grey, Monnas had a very up and down 2022 season. They started off well with a convincing win over Welkom Gimnasium, but then suffered to massive loss against Paarl Gimnasium, only to bounce back against Oakdale again and steady the ship for a six-match winning streak but suffering two back-to-back matches before getting back to winning ways with a 43-19 victory against a very strong Garsfontein side, who was unbeaten at that stage. Expectation is high ahead of Saturday’s Premier Interschools fixture, it will surely prove to be a memorable one.

Rugby at Grey College

Grey College has served Bloemfontein, the Free State, South Africa, and the world well over the past 150 years. Grey has been able to adjust and remain relevant in an ever-changing environment. The brand is known and revered throughout South Africa, internationally even, and the products of the school make a positive difference wherever they are. Parallel medium education, tolerance, respect for others and loyalty to the school are not only traditions, but firm foundations in a global village. Grey is structured on these foundations, and it is constantly adapting to new developments. The wave of change washing over our country confirms the value of Grey’s traditions.

Grey has produced 46 Springbok rugby players. Since WWII it has produced more Springbok players than any other school in SA, their latest being centre Francois Venter.

List of Grey Springboks:

Player DebutYear
Herman van Broekhuizen 1896
Boetie McHardy 1912
Sarel Strauss 1921
Louis Babrow 1937
Harry Martin 1937
Piet de Wet 1938
Popeye Strydom 1955
John Wessels 1956
Gert Cilliers 1963
Flip vd Merwe 2010
Deon Stegman 2010
Johan Spies 1970
Morné du Plessis 1971
Dawie Snyman 1972
Jackie Snyman 1974
Theuns Stofberg 1976
Robbie Blair 1977
Jaco Reinach 1986
Helgard Muller 1986
Pieter Muller 1992
Heinrich Fuls 1992
Johan Styger 1992
Ruben Kruger 1993
Naka Drotske 1993
Ollie le Roux 1994
Werner Swanepoel 1997
Charl Marais 1999
CJ van der Linde 2002
Gerrie Britz 2004
Ruan Pienaar 2006
Francois Steyn 2006
Jannie du Plessis 2007
Bismarck du Plessis 2007
Adriaan Strauss 2008
Heinrich Brussow 2008
Wian du Preez 2009
Deon Stegmann 2010
Andries Strauss 2011
Johan Goosen 2012
Coenie Oosthuizen 2012
Tiaan Liebenberg 2012
Jan Serfontein 2013
Piet Van Zyl 2013
Marcel van der Merwe 2014
Cobus Reinach 2014
Francois Venter 2016


Rugby at Monnas

When the school opened in 1921 ML Brink held a meeting of boys to find out what games they wanted to play.  They all opted for soccer, as was the custom on the bare fields of the Highveld at the time, and he then democratically decided that they would play rugby! The school played its first match on 1 April 1921 and drew 3-3 with Krugersdorp High School.

Since then, the school has had many great sides – as in 1924, 1953, 1979, 1980, 1984 and 1993 when the team scored 143 tries in 28 matches.

Monument first won the Administrator’s Cup in 1953.  It won again in 1973 and then again in 1992 and for the seven years which followed. In 2003 they were Media 24 National Schools champions. These are all huge achievements given the number and quality of the competing schools. After Brink famous coaches have been Jan Lange (1936-53), Pa Pelser, the famous Transvaal loose forward and coach, Hans Coetzee and currently Wynand Moolman.

List of Monnas Springboks

Christo Wagenaar 1977
Brendan Venter 1994
Jaque Fourie 2003
Jorrie Muller 2003
Heinke van der Merwe 2007
Willem Alberts

Jaco Taute

Julian Redelinghuys






  • Monnas celebrated their 90th Birthday in 2011
  • Monnas represented RSA in the Sanix Youth Rugby International Tournament in Fukuoko, Japan in 2012
  • Paul Willemse and Marais Schmidt were part of the victorious 2012 SA Under 20 team that won the Under 20 World Cup
  • FW De Klerk was a pupil at Monnas
  • In 2011 both the SA Schools and SA Academy u/18 teams captains came from Monnas: Ruan Steenkamp (SA Schools) and Christopher Newman (SA Academy)
  • Biggest recent achievement was when three old boys – Willem Alberts, Jaco Taute and Heinke van der Merwe – represented Souh Africa against Ireland on the end-of-year tour in 2012
  • In April 2013 Ruan Steenkamp was appointed captain of SA u/20 World Cup squad


The game will be broadcast live on Saturday, 28 May from 13h55 on SuperSport Variety 4.

Schedule Date Series Title Episode Title Start Time Channel Status
25-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 17:00 RUG / RUGA Premier
26-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 05:15 RUG / RUGA Repeat
26-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 06:45 VR2A Repeat
26-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 15:25 VR2 Repeat
27-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 00:35 VR4 Repeat
27-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 05:45 VR2A Repeat
27-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 07:05 CSN Repeat
27-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 13:00 VR2 Repeat
28-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 00:30 VR2 Repeat
28-May-2022 Premier Interschools Rugby Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 08:25 OTT1 / Streaming 244 Live
28-May-2022 Premier Interschools Preview Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 13:35 VR4 Repeat
28-May-2022 Premier Interschools Build-up Grey College vs Monument Hoërskool 13:50